Monthly Archives: May 2009

Tell the AEA story at the State Fair

Again this year, Iowa’s Area Education Agency system will be represented by a booth at the Iowa State Fair in the (air conditioned!) Varied Industries Building. The booth was a huge success last year garnering thousands of visitors. This year, … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Have a cell phone? You may be eligible for a discount

U.S. Cellular & Verizon offer all public employees, including AEA staff, a discount on a personal phone plan. Information about U.S. Cellular can be found at For Verizon details, click If you have problems, please contact the people listed … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Outstanding Paraeducators announced

Congratulations to Helen Hinders, Aplington-Parkersburg Middle School; Krista State, CAL Elementary of Latimer; and Larry Thompson, Four Oaks in Mason City for being the three winners for this year’s AEA 267 Outstanding Paraeducator Award! In order to honor the hard … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Update on support for “emerging” technology tools

A working committee of AEA 267 InfoTech staff members have been developing a system-wide plan for providing and supporting emerging technology tools for staff.  Support for tools such as videoconferencing from your computer, blogging, podcasting, and use of a discussion … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

New IEC student and teacher software store offers discounts to AEA staff

Starting April 1, school students and K-12 educators (including AEAs) will have access to software discounts of up to 85% with the new Iowa Educators Consortium (IEC) Software Store powered by Journey Education. Partnerships with Microsoft, Adobe, NUANCE and Inspiration … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Staff member appointed coordinator for state advisory committee

Linda Martin, AEA 267 Consultant for Curriculum, was recently elected to the State Coordinator Advisory Committee for We The People: The Citizen and the Constitution for 2009-2011. Congratulations, Linda!

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment