May board meeting recap

The AEA 267 Board of Directors met May 5 at 5:30 p.m. at the SCMT High School Media Center in Sheffield for their regular meeting. The board met in Sheffield to facilitate a public hearing of the proposed reorganization of the SCMT and Rockwell-Swaledale school districts (now whole grade sharing as “West Fork Schools”).

During the meeting, the board:

  • Accepted with regret the retirement of Joan Lentz, Speech-Language Pathologist (Cedar Falls), effective January 5, 2011.
  • Accepted with regret the resignations of Deb Zebill, Special Education Consultant (Sector 3), Emily Lucas, Teacher of Multi Disabilities/Special Class with Integration (Waverly-Shell Rock Jr. High), Janeal Lyons, Teacher of Multi Disabilities (Dysart Elementary) and John McEwan, Teacher of Mental Disabilities (Mason City High School), all resigning effective end of the 2009-10 school year.
  • Approved Chief Administrator’s recommendations to terminate licensed staff contracts (due to staff reduction needs).
  • Approved renewal of instructional coaching contracts with AEA 267 districts using remaining ARRA funds.
  • Renewed one-year extension on the lease with North Iowa Community Action Organization for Charles City sector office.
  • Approved an agreement with Jester Insurance for Agent of Record agreement for AEA 267’s Workman’s Comprehensive Insurance Program.
  • Approved the EMC Insurance Program for 2010-2011.
  • Approved the contract amendment with FMC Decat for Coordination Services.
  • Heard a variety of reports from directors and fellow board members.

At  7:00 p.m. the board members attended the public hearing on SCMT and Rockwell-Swaledale Reorganization.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.