Get to know your Central Rivers AEA board members!

May is set aside as School Board Recognition Month and is the perfect time to thank our volunteer community members who govern Central Rivers AEA! Serving over 62,000 students, 5,000 educators, and almost 500 staff members, these nine committed individuals are the backbone of the agency, setting the course for our work.

Dr. Debra Rich, Board President, represents Charles City, Dike-New Hartford, Dunkerton, Nashua-Plainfield, Sumner-Fredericksburg, Tripoli, Wapsie Valley, and Waverly-Shell Rock.

Deb and her husband have three grown children and five grandchildren. 




Roberta Kraft-Abrahamson, represents Central Springs, Clear Lake, Forest City, Garner-Hayfield- Ventura, Lake Mills, North Iowa, Northwood-Kensett, St. Ansgar, and West Hancock.

After working for the AEA for 25 years as a school social worker, Roberta now uses her AEA experience to further our mission.




Dr. George North is the representative for AGWSR, Alden, Aplington-Parkersburg, CAL, Clarksville, Eldora-New Providence, Grundy Center, Hampton-Dumont, Hubbard-Radcliffe, Iowa Falls, and North Butler.

With over 50 years in dentistry, Dr. North has also been involved in education and volunteerism his entire life.



Dr. Darshini Jayawardena represents Belmond-Klemme, Mason City, Osage, RRMR, and West Fork.

Darshini and her husband have three grown children and a granddaughter.





David Giese represents the districts of BCLUW, East Marshall, GMG, Marshalltown, and West Marshall.

Now retired, both David and his wife were educators for many years.





Maureen Hanson, Board Vice-President represents BGM, Gladbrook-Reinbeck, Grinnell-Newburg, Hudson, Montezuma, North Tama County, South Tama County, and Union.

Maureen and her husband have three daughters and three granddaughters.




Dr. Tony Reid represents Cedar Falls, Denver, and Janesville. He and his wife have four children and several grandchildren.






Bryan Burton represents the Waterloo school district and is also the Director of Operations for the Boys & Girls Club of the Cedar Valley.






Dennis Craun, Jr., represents the districts of East Buchanan, Independence, Jesup, and Waterloo. He and his wife have two children.






Please join us in honoring the work of these dedicated people who donate countless hours of personal time to help ensure a quality education for all of Iowa’s students.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.